Thank You.

This is a thank you for everyone who has supported me throughout my running career. 

img_0421-1

 

Pictured above are all of the medals I have earned over the last three years. Nine medals and fifteen bib numbers hang to remind me that anything is possible when hard work is put in.

Running has meant a lot to me since I began back in 2013. It’s allowed me to achieve goals I never thought I could reach. It has also allowed me to fail, more than once. I could go on and on about what it teaches me- and why I do it, but I know I wouldn’t have this pretty display if it wasn’t for the support of my family and friends.

Seriously. You all rock.

So since I have finally completed my first FULL marathon, there’s a few people I would like to thank.

First, I would like to thank my two cousins. Alex and AJ there is no way on earth I would have these many medals hanging on my wall without your support. I am so happy you both convinced me to run my first half back in 2013. Thank you so much for bringing me into this crazy running world.  You both inspire me and motivate me to do my best as I continue to grow, and I’m so happy running has brought us close.

Next, my parents and sister of course. Thank you for supporting my running bug by waking up before the sun, traveling to distant places, training with me and providing me with endless encouragement and chocolate milk. I couldn’t do really any of it without you. Thank you for raising me to believe anything is possible with hard work.

To my best friends and college roommates: Thank you for listening to me bitch over the past three years about what part of my body hurts from running. It was not easy training for these races in college, and I appreciate your support even when… “I can’t stay out late cause I have to run in the morning” conversation came up.

To my boyfriend- who has probably listened to me complain about my muscles over a hundred times. Thank you for always being there for me and using your athletic training skills to fix my aches and pains. I still can’t believe that you flew overnight to surprise me at my marathon. Your support and encouragement means the world to me. I’m very lucky to have you in my life. (p.s. your parents also rock too for driving to see me run) 

Last, to anyone who has given me encouragement over the years and cheered me on from the sides of the road. I can’t wait to share my future accomplishments with you.

They say running is 90% mental and 10% physical when running a race. However, I believe it’s a little bit more about the people who help get you there to the start.

Leave a Reply

