Recovery Month

If you haven’t noticed, I don’t have a running schedule up for May.
The reason is because I’m taking a month off of running. I’m still unable to run due to my shin, and I’m hoping to have a fast recovery in the weeks to come.

Currently I’m still working out, but doing little work that involves my shins. Mainly I’m focusing on my upper body and stomach area. I just started lifting, and oh do my arms burn. But aside from upper body work outs, today I went back to one of my favorite workouts.

What is that you ask?

This beautiful machine…

rowing-machine

Yes, the erg. AKA a rowing machine.
Oh, how I missed this torture device. For many of you that may not know, I use to row in high school. It’s something I truly love to do, and I hope one day I can put myself back in a boat. I love it just as much as I love running(and slightly a little more (maybe)).
Let’s just say erging felt like home.
Anyway, today I rowed a dirty dozen. What’s a “dirty dozen?” It’s 250 meters intervals 12 times. And guess what? It kicked my freaking butt.

Although, I can’t say I’m too rusty with my splits. I didn’t do so bad for jumping back on after neglecting the erg for over a year. Below are my splits, and I’m pretty happy with them. They’re not exactly where I was in high school, but they’re close! Yay for endurance!

Embedded image permalink

Also, if you want to know how to use a machine like this, PLEASE watch a video on it. I cannot stress enough how important it is to know how to PROPERLY use this machine. It’s extremely painful to watch people using it incorrectly. You can do serious damage to your back if you don’t use it the right way.

Here is a fantastic website on how to use this machine properly: http://www.concept2.com/indoor-rowers/training/technique-videos

Have you ever had to take a month off of running? How did you deal with it?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Recovery Month

  1. I’m currently on my 4th week of no running for the same reason – shin splints! The first two weeks I did the bike, but then I got bronchitis and wasn’t able to work out at all for the past two weeks! This ended up being a bit of a blessing in disguise since once I stopped working out all together I was able to pinpoint what was actually causing my problems & was diagnosed with post-tibial tendinitis! I will probably get back to the bike next week to help loosen up my muscles before slowly easing back into running the following week. I did find that it was a nice break to not run and this is the first week that I’ve really missed it. Enjoiy your time off and I hope it helps with your recovery!

Leave a Reply

