Late Night Reads

This post is going to be a little bit different from my others. Tonight I’m going to take a little bit of a personal note and write an open journal, to share my own thoughts with you. 

To begin, I must introduce my 9 notebooks I own. They are filled with my thoughts and creative writings dating all the way back to middle school. Tonight, I read through them. All 9 of them.

Sometimes you should look back at the past. Good or bad, you can see how you’ve grown over the many years.  While reading through, I laughed shaking my head at the ridiculous emotions I’ve experienced. Some good, some not-so-good…but I’m still alive and happy right? That’s the point though, we learn. From absolutely everything we go through. It might not seem like it, but right now we’re learning. We always are. Always thinking. Always doing. 

So after I had many laughs, I reached a serious point that had me fuming a bit. Not at the situation, not at the people, but myself. Although I ended up laughing it off. “How could I have been that stupid?” I wanted to throw the beaten up notebook at the wall for a moment. But then I shrugged it off. Why?  Because it doesn’t phase me anymore. 

And that’s what got me thinking. About respect. 

Here is  10  things I would have said to my younger-stubborn-self about relationships… 

  1. Don’t ever leave your friends for anyone. CARDINAL RULE. Just remember that. If you lose your friends, you lose part of yourself.   
  2. If someone in your life points out your flaws consistently…leave them. Relationships are suppose to raise you up, not take you down.  
  3. If you fight with someone at least once a week, chances are you’re not suppose to be with them. It doesn’t matter who started the fight, what matters is who continued it. Find the problem, then talk it out. Slience solves nothing. 
  4. Don’t let anyone bring you down. Better yet, don’t ever stoop to the level of bringing someone down. It can be contagious and dangerous. It’s a hard hole to crawl out of.
  5. People, places, and things do change.  Accept it and embrace it. 
  6. If you made a big mistake. Fix it. Be humble and stay calm. And if it can’t be fixed? Then let it go, it wasn’t meant to be fixed in the first place. 
  7. Apologize before it’s too late. Turn your ego and pride down a notch. Accept the fact you hurt someone and there’s never a better time to fix it then now. 
  8.  If it’s real love, you won’t have to work for it. Eventually everything will fall into place. 
  9. Forgive. This can be a toughie. It might take time, but in the end, it’s worth it. 
  10. If someone makes you smile and laugh, make them smile and laugh back. Don’t take life too seriously. 

Because in the end, it’s about being true to yourself. 

 

One thought on “Late Night Reads

Leave a Reply

