Thrifty & Fit Blog 1: The process to clean out the processed

Processed foods. 

The word just wants to make me cringe. Although I understand we live in a world where it’s difficult (but not impossible!) to go a week without it.

I will be the first to admit it. Staying fit and eating healthy in college is not easy. It’s quite hard, especially when you manage your own budget. Junk food is cheaper. Mac n’ cheese, pizza rolls? Of course! If you open up my freezer and pantry that’s what you’ll find. Boxes upon boxes. Why? Because it’s quick and easy.

But here’s the thing, you don’t need to go on a “Ramen noodle diet.” Quite frankly if you can, STAY AWAY from those scary processed noodles, do it. If you can’t…please find ways to put vegetables in them.

So where am I going with this?  

I’m in the process of getting rid of (most) of my processed food. I hate feeling like crap after eating it. I’m bloated, tired, and never fully satisfied. Before I was buying my own groceries (AKA Mom & Dad bought food) I ate tiny amounts processed food. When college started up again, I began having stomach issues due to my diet changing. My body was not use to all the sodium.

Here’s what I’m doing…

Getting rid of/Cutting Out:

  • Pizza Rolls
  • Kraft Mac N’ Cheese
  • Processed sugar
  • Frozen Pizza
  • Chicken Nuggets

And yes, to get rid of it means my friend and I will be eating it. I’m not just going to throw away food, ESPECIALLY since I’m   on a budget. Once it’s gone, it’s gone…and I’ll let you know when it’s gone(:

Replacing it with:

  • Homemade Frozen dinners (I will pre-make)
  • Frozen vegetables (Also non-frozen vegetables)
  • Frozen fruit (And non-frozen fruit)
  • Brown Rice
  • Healthier chocolate alternatives (THEY ARE OUT THERE) #chocolateaddict (:

Some of the healthier options I’ll be buying will still be processed. The main goal is to replace the harsher processed food, with more nutritional processed food. I will talk about that in later Thrifty & Fit Blogs.

These are the Top 5 things I want to change in my diet. Other than what was listed, I do usually try to eat clean. I always make sure to eat fruits and vegetables everyday, and I drink tons and tons of water.

If you could cut out 5 processed foods what would they be, and what would you replace them with?

Image

3 thoughts on “Thrifty & Fit Blog 1: The process to clean out the processed

  1. Haha I know it’s so hard to eat completely clean in college! Crappy food is so much faster and more convenient, especially around finals and stuff. I did what you’re planning on doing- make a bunch of meals a head of time and freeze it! Homemade meat sauce/marinara sauce froze well for me!

  2. Good for you!
    Eating healthy doesn’t always need to be about trying to lose weight either.
    Chicken, brown rice, oatmeal, eggs, and fruit and veggies will become your best friends. From these, you can get the best nutritional bang for you “starving student” buck.

    It’s pretty easy to make a batch of chicken, which can be used a variety of ways throughout the week (stir-fry, sandwiches, soup etc.). And you’ll feel so much better than eating that fast food and junk.

Leave a Reply

