Take a Moment and Self-Reflect…

A year ago today I was not training. I was barely running. I was a first semester freshman in college, meeting new people, learning new things, and stressing over many situations I shouldn’t have. A year ago, I couldn’t tell you I was as happy as I am now.

After having a serious discussion with my roommates, none of us would have thought we would be where we are today. Last year at this time, I had no intention of running a half-marathon or coaching for Girls on the Run. It is amazing to think how much a year can change us. It’s amazing how many things we can accomplish in a span of 12 months.

Think back a year. What were you doing at this time? Were you as healthy or fit as you are now? Did you have a different group of friends? How did you feel? Maybe nothing’s changed at all, and that’s okay.

The thoughts going through my head last year, do not even compare to what’s going through my mind now. I’m more motivated, positive, and wiser. I’ve learned how to set goals and achieve them. All the negativity in my life (or was) is now a motive.

A lesson Coach Taylor, Coach Ashley, and I (Coach Sam) taught at GOTR this week was about self-reflection and gratitude. We talked about what it means to be grateful and why it’s important to self-reflect. This is something we all should remember to do. It’s important to self-reflect and think about your life. Think about what your goals were last year. Did you achieve them? Or did they change? Personally, mine changed. A lot. Another thing: what were you grateful for last year? Has that changed?

I have had one of the most amazing years so far. So many things have changed and I am thankful for every single event in my life. I went through some tough situations at the end of last year, but I’m glad that they happened.

Every moment in your life makes you who you are today. It may not seem like it, but all the people you meet, places you go, and things you learn have an impact on your decisions. Take every mistake as a lesson, and every chance as a new beginning. Self-reflect on your failures, achievements, and values. (Try not to spend too much time on your failures but focus more on your values). Realize that everything happens for a reason. It’s okay if you don’t know why something happened. (Sometimes you’re not suppose too.)

“Happiest of people don’t necessarily have the best of everything; they just make the most of everything that comes along their way.” -Karen S. Magee

Have a wonderful Friday everyone. We’re so close to the weekend!

One thought on “Take a Moment and Self-Reflect…

Leave a Reply

