Half-Marathon Recap

Hello Tumblr World! Happy Monday! (: 

Yesterday I finally completed my goal of running a half-marathon. The hard work finally paid off. And now it’s time for me to tell you about it. I’ll break it down….and try to keep it short.

4:30 A.M.: I woke up to start getting ready for my half-marathon. The race began at seven, but with the half being sold out we had to get there early. While getting ready at home it felt like I was in high-school again getting up for a regatta. 

5:15 a.m.: My dad and I pick my cousins up, and we’re off to the marathon! I packed cereal and a banana to nibble on before I run, but can’t seem to finish anything due to nerves. (And not being able to eat at 5 in the morning!!) My banana isn’t even half way finished before I threw it out. Womp Womp. ): 

6:00-ishIt begins to sprinkle. Rainis expected throughout the whole run. 

6:45 a.m: We make our way to the start line(: Nerves and emotions begin as the mayor and prospector welcome us. The National Anthem is sung, and a moment of silence is held for Boston. 

7:02 a.m.: THE RACE BEGINS! And it’s raining. Woo! 

….2 hours later (still raining)…

I finish my first half-marathon soaked to the bone. My official time of finishing was 2:16:41 with a pace of 10’26.


I never “guesstimated” a pace or time for me. For my first half I decided to just run, and not worry about a number. I gave 110% running yesterday in the cold wind and rain. I actually did much better than I thought! I’m very proud of myself, and so indescribably happy I’ve completed this goal of mine. I can’t wait to do it again(: 

I also know I couldn’t have finished the half if it wasn’t for my family and friends who came out to support my cousins, APO brother, and I. They all rocked it holding signs and cheering for us when we passed in the horrible cold rain! It gave me more motivation to run and finish. Even around mile 7-9 where I needed it most! Sure my running playlist helped motivate me, but nothing is better than people who care about you cheering you on! Even the strangers I didn’t know helped! My favorite part was the little kids holding their hands out to high five. I tried to high five most of them, because I know they think it’s cool(: I remember doing that when I was little at events! Also the posters spectators held, made me smile (: 
Here’s three of my favorites: “If running was easy, it’d be like your mother.” “Worst Parade Ever.” “It sounded like a good plan four months ago.”


Anywho…
I had a huge idea last night of what to write in my post, but I can’t remember it all. I guess I would say I’m at a loss for words. The purpose of this blog is about setting and accomplishing fitness goals, and I have one goal I’ve shared with all of you completed.
In the next post I will be sharing with you what my next fitness goal is(:
Until then, enjoy these pictures of the half-marathon! 

image

The day before at the marathon expo! YAY

image

This i before the race! As you can see, underneath our raincoats, we are wearing blue and yellow for Boston(: 

image

See me? In the bright salmon color? This photo was taken between mile 7 and 8. Still powering through in the wet weather! 

image

Coming up to the finish! At this point I’m all smiles. I can see the finish line and the excitement is stirring. I finish strong! 

image

About twenty minutes later my cousin finishes! We’re so freaking cold! But accomplished and happy(:

image

We all meet up in the “party tents” after the race! Showing off our new piece of medal (; …and trying to get warm.

image

Freezing…

image

My sister, getting her butt up early to support my cousins and I! (:

image

Okay, this is what I come home to. My dog with a sign around her neck. What a freak.

image

Annndddd hours after the race, finally warm. I’m surrounded with my bib number, a half-marathon glass, my medal, flowers, and my new 13.1 marathon shirt! WOO!

 
 Have a great Monday everyone. Remember that any goal can be completed if you work hards toward it! It will always pay off in the end! 

Leave a Reply

